Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte | Review

I started reading Wuthering Heights on Tuesday and I wasn’t able to put it down. I finished it on Thursday and I want to read it again already.  I was completely wrapped up in the story in a way that I wasn’t when reading books by the other Bronte sisters.

I thought that Wuthering Heights was going to be boring, and at first the story seemed a little slow, but about a third of the way through the story began to speed up and I really enjoyed it.The plot was a bit confusing at times with all the links between all the characters, and I didn’t really have a suspension of disbelief while reading it, but it was still a good book. I liked the plot in general, and I liked that it had a pretty clear plot, unlike some books I’ve read before.

I have mixed feelings about the different characters. The character of Heathcliff was my favourite. I didn’t really know much about the novel before reading it, and I didn’t know he would become so dark, so cruel and so sneaky. But when he did, I really liked that side to his character. The romance between him and Cathy was beautiful. While the character of Cathy annoyed me a lot on her own, combined with Heathcliff there was a lovely romance.

The character Nelly Dean was probably my least favourite. It felt like she was forced into the story because she was the narrator. I kept thinking “Why would a servant be around when…”, and I don’t think she really added anything to the story. I felt a similar thing about Mr Lockwood, other than being a narrator he didn’t give anything to the story.

I didn’t mind any of the other characters, though some of them seemed a bit cliche – like Linton Heathcliff, the sickly invalid type, and Hindley, the classic alcoholic character.

Overall, I really enjoyed Wuthering Heights, its been on my “to be read” list for a long time, and I’m glad I finally read it.

 

2 thoughts on “Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte | Review

  1. aubreyleaman says:

    This is easily one of my favorite books of all time. It may be a cliché, but from the first page it just grabbed me and I’m not even sure why. I love the ending, too! Glad you liked it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

